Counsel of the Year awards 2018

Thursday, May 10th, 2018.

Hong Kong Jockey Club Happy Valley Clubhouse, Hong Kong
Shan Kwong Rd, Happy Valley

Supported by

axiom Singapore Inno Tech logo yokuk

Click here for Sponsorship info, or email us at

General Counsel from more than 100 companies have filled in their nominations for the awards.

Click here to contact us

The In-House Community 'Counsels of the Year Awards 2018'

Bringing together the crème de la crème of the legal industry in Asia and the Middle East to recognise their achievements.

Dedication | Innovation | Efficiency | Value | Integration | Encouragement | Iimprovement | CSR | Diversity

The aim of the awards is to honour both individual in-house counsel and legal teams that have pursued excellence within their organisations during the past year, and to showcase their achievements and provide inspiration to our community of 21,000 in-house counsel across Asia and the Middle East. The winning legal teams, and counsel within, will be able to demonstrate a range of achievements, including those in the areas of:

  • Dedication
  • Innovation
  • Efficiency & Value
  • Integration
  • Encouragement & Improvement
  • CSR & Diversity

Shortlisted nominees will be invited to our annual In-House Community Awards Ceremony & Celebration, to be held in Hong Kong on 10th May, 2018.

Nominations for In-House Teams of the Year 2018



Axis Bank Limited
CIMB Group
DBS Bank Ltd
Industrial and Commercial Bank of China (Asia) Limited
Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd.
Malayan Banking Berhad (‘Maybank’) Group
Nomura International (Hong Kong) Limited
Reserve Bank of India



Aboitiz Equity Ventures
Daimler Greater China Ltd.
Godrej Industries Limited
Hyundai Heavy Industries Co. Ltd.
MMC Corporation Berhad
Seah Holdings
Sinochem International Corporation
Unilever Indonesia Tbk

Energy & Natural Resources

Aboitiz Power Corporation
CLP Holdings Limited
DNV GL Group Legal
Schlumberger Indonesia
Sinochem Petroleum Exploration & Production Co., Ltd

Financial Services (ex-Banking)

Asian Development Bank
CCB International
Haitong International Securities Group Limited
Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited
Sinovation Ventures


Aditya Birla Sun Life Insurance Company Limited
Sun Life Malaysia Assurance Berhad
Taikang Insurance Group Inc.

Life Science & Pharma

Bayer (China) Limited
DKSH Vietnam Co., Ltd.
Sanofi (China) Investment Co., Ltd.
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd.

Manufacturing & Engineering

ABB China
Aecom Indonesia
Akzo Nobel (China) Investment Co., Ltd.
Alstom Transport
Anheuser-Busch InBev, Asia-Pacific North Zone
Astra Honda Motor
China Machinery Engineering Corp. (CMEC)
Continental Korea
Corning China (Shanghai) Regional Headquarters
Harman International India Private Limited
KONE Elevators
Schneider Electric
United Technologies Climate Controls & Security

Property, Infrastructure & Logistics

China International Marine Containers (Group) Co. Ltd.
edotco Myanmar Limited
Far East Organization
FedEx Express International BV
Hyundai Engineering & Construction Co. Ltd.
Swire Pacific Offshore Group

Retail & Healthcare

Aditya Birla Retail Ltd. & Aditya Birla Fashion and Retail Ltd.
Aeon Co. (M) Bhd.

Technology, Media & Telecom

Alibaba Group Hong Kong
Alibaba Group International
Dolby Laboratories
FIS Global
Lazada Group
LG Display Co., Ltd. – IP Division
Sony (China) Limited
Telstra International Limited
Tencent Holdings Limited
Viacom18 Media Private Limited

Travel & Leisure

Flash Entertainment FZ LLC
InterContinental Hotels Group
InterGlobe Aviation Limited
Melco Resorts & Entertainment Limited (“Melco)
The Hong Kong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited


Black & Veatch
Kuehne + Nagel MEA
Nord Anglia Education
Rekso Group
Tharawat Saudi Arabia

Sponsor Industry Awards

Individual industry awards above are available for sponsorship.




Private Practice, Individual In-House Counsel and Visionary Firms Awards shortlist TBC

In-House Community Counsels of the Year – Join the Celebration


The In-House Community Counsels of the Year Awards Ceremony 2018 will again honour counsels from across the region, that have pursued excellence in their roles. All commended counsels and in-house teams will receive their certificate of recognition on the night.

During the ceremony we will also announce our overall industry and specialist category winners, as well as the In-House Community Team of the Year, In-House Counsel of the Year, Deal Firm of the Year, and Visionary Firm Awards.








Date & Time

from 6.30pm, on Thursday, 10 May 2018
Hong Kong Jockey Club Happy Valley Clubhouse, Hong Kong
Shan Kwong Rd, Happy Valley

Highlights from 2016 and 2017 Counsels of the Year Awards


Panel of Judges


Evangelos Apostolou

Evangelos Apostolou

In House Practice Group, EMEA and APAC at Major, Lindsey & Africa

a seasoned legal professional, Evangelos was General Counsel, Asia-Pacific, and Partner, Ernst & Young and General Counsel, Asia-Pacific, British Telecom. Based in London and Singapore, Evangelos’ practice with Major, Lindsey & Africa focuses on recruiting in-house General Counsels and providing in-house legal department and law firm advisory services across EMEA and APAC.

Kirsty Dougan

Kirsty Dougan

Head of Asia, Axiom

Head of Asia for Axiom, one of the world’s leading providers of legal advisory services. Previously Kirsty served as Senior Regional Counsel to Diageo where she started and built Diageo’s legal function for the Greater China region.


Cherine Ghali

Cherine Ghali

ex General Counsel at Dubai Group

Cherine Ghali, was previously General Counsel at Dubai Group in the UAE, winner of both the Change Management, Middle East category and overall Middle Eastern Legal Team of the Year accolades at the 2017 In-House Community Awards.

Michelle Gon

Michelle Gon

Partner at McDermott Will & Emery

Michelle Gon is a partner of McDermott Will & Emery. She is stationed at the firm’s strategic alliance office, MWE China Law Offices, in Shanghai. Previously Michelle was a Principal at Baker & McKenzie Shanghai, Managing Partner of the firm’s Taipei office, and served as the Chief Legal Officer/Vice President of Semiconductor Manufacturing International (Shanghai) Corporation, and an International Attorney for McDonald’s Corporation, headquartered in Illinois.

David Miles

David Miles

Chairman of Asia Community Venture

David Miles, former partner Executive Committee member and Chairman of Asia Latham & Watkins. Currently Chairman of Asia Community Venture.

Patrick Dransfield

Patrick Dransfield

Co-Director, In-House Community | Publishing Director, ASIAN-MENA COUNSEL

Patrick Dransfield is Co-Director of In-House Community. Patrick has over 20 years of experience working in the legal industry: firstly as a Publisher and later Asia Managing Director of Euromoney Institutional Investor, and then as Marketing and Business Development Director for Asia for Shearman & Sterling and White & Case respectively.

Tim Gilkison

Tim Gilkison

Managing Director, In-House Community | ASIAN-MENA COUNSEL

Tim is the founder of In-House Community and has over 20 years of experience in publishing and of hosting forums specifically for the In-House Community of corporate counsel in Asia and the Middle East.