Counsel of the Year awards 2018

Supporting Excellence in Legal Industry

The In-House Community
Counsels of the Year Awards & Celebration 2019

May 2019, Hong Kong

The aim of the awards is to honour both individual in-house counsel and legal teams that have pursued excellence within their organisations during the past year, and to showcase their achievements and provide inspiration to our community of 21,000 in-house counsel across Asia and the Middle East. The winning legal teams, and counsel within, will be able to demonstrate a range of achievements, including those in the areas of:

Dedication | Innovation | Efficiency & Value | Integration | Encouragement & Improvement | CSR & Diversity

Shortlisted nominees will be invited to our annual In-House Community Awards Ceremony & Celebration, to be held in Hong Kong in May, 2019.


Sponsor the Awards, and BE THERE!

There are a select number of opportunities available to sponsor the event and benefit from being at the awards celebration.

To enquire about sponsorship benefits, and attending opportunities for 2019, see below and email Rahul at


Award Categories for 2019

In-House Legal Team of the Year 2019

  • Banking
  • Conglomerate
  • Energy & Natural Resources
  • Financial Services – ex-banking
  • Insurance
  • Life Science & Pharma
  • Manufacturing & Engineering
  • Property, Infrastructure & Logistics
  • Retail & Healthcare
  • Technology, Media & Telecoms
  • Travel & Leisure
  • Others

Best Practice Management Category

  • Change Management
  • Corporate Social Responsibility
  • Diversity
  • Innovation
  • Integration
  • Risk Management
  • Small Team
  • Talent Management
  • Transactional

Client Service Category

  • Commended External Counsel of the Year 2019
  • External Counsel of the Year 2018 – 2019 Winner
  • Visionary Client Service Law Firm of the Year 2019
  • Visionary Client Service Law Firm of the Year – International
  • Visionary Non – Law Firm Legal Services Provider

In-House Team & Individual Awards

  • In-House Counsel of the Year 2019
  • Middle East In-House Team of the Year 2019
  • Africa In-House Team of the Year 2019
  • Asia In-House Team of the Year 2019

Silver Sponsor

Attend and Present
  • Branding as a sponsor on all marketing materials
  • Logo on winner’s photo backdrop
  • 4 invites to the Awards celebrations
  • Present select awards on-stage to winners
  • Logo on ‘Call for Nomination’ emails.
  • Logo on all invitations.
  • and more…
Inquire Now

Category Award Sponsor

Sponsor select awards
  • Select the award categories and present the award on-stage to the winners
  • 2 guest invites to the awards celebrations
  • Branding at the event and post event write up as a sponsor.
  • and more…
Inquire Now

2018 attendees included counsels and teams from the following organisations

ABB Limited, Aboitiz Equity Ventures, Accenture, Aditya Birla Group, Aeon, AFGRI Group, AIG, Angara Abello Concepcion Regala & Cruz Law Offices (ACCRA Law), Asian Development Bank, Axiom, Bagus Enrico and Partners, Baker McKenzie, Bank of America Merrill Lynch, Bayer Limited, CIMB Group, Clyde & Co, Clyde & Co Clasis Singapore, Conyers Dill & Pearman, Credit Suisse, Daimler, Dell, DFDL Yangon, Dolby Laboratories, Dubai Group, Eversheds Sutherland, Far East Organization, Haitong International Securities, Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing, Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre, Hong Kong Monetary Authority, InterContinental Hotels Group, KorumLegal, Lawcadia, LNT Partners, Lubis Ganie Surowidjojo, Major, Lindsey & Africa, Malayan Banking Berhad, Manulife, McDermott Will & Emery, Melco Resorts & Entertainment, MHP Law Firm, Morgan Stanley, NetApp, Nord Anglia Education, Norton Rose Fulbright, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison, PT Rekso Nasional Food, Sanofi Investment,  SATS, Schneider Electric, Sino, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP, Sony, Sun Life, Taikang Insurance, Telstra International, Tencent, The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Vanuscript Consulting Co. Ltd, Vistra Group, and more…

Photographs from the 2018 Counsels of the Year Awards

For more information



Shortlisted In-House Teams of the Year for 2018 were




Axis Bank Limited
CIMB Group
DBS Bank Ltd
Industrial and Commercial Bank of China (Asia) Limited
Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd.
Malayan Banking Berhad (‘Maybank’) Group
Nomura International (Hong Kong) Limited
Reserve Bank of India



Aboitiz Equity Ventures
Daimler Greater China Ltd.
Godrej Industries Limited
Hyundai Heavy Industries Co. Ltd.
MMC Corporation Berhad
Seah Holdings
Sinochem International Corporation
Unilever Indonesia Tbk

Energy & Natural Resources

Aboitiz Power Corporation
CLP Holdings Limited
DNV GL Group Legal
Schlumberger Indonesia
Sinochem Petroleum Exploration & Production Co., Ltd

Financial Services (ex-Banking)

Asian Development Bank
CCB International
Haitong International Securities Group Limited
Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited
Sinovation Ventures


Aditya Birla Sun Life Insurance Company Limited
Sun Life Malaysia Assurance Berhad
Taikang Insurance Group Inc.

Life Science & Pharma

Bayer (China) Limited
DKSH Vietnam Co., Ltd.
Sanofi (China) Investment Co., Ltd.
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd.

Manufacturing & Engineering

ABB China
Aecom Indonesia
Akzo Nobel (China) Investment Co., Ltd.
Alstom Transport
Anheuser-Busch InBev, Asia-Pacific North Zone
Astra Honda Motor
China Machinery Engineering Corp. (CMEC)
Continental Korea
Corning China (Shanghai) Regional Headquarters
Harman International India Private Limited
KONE Elevators
Schneider Electric
United Technologies Climate Controls & Security

Property, Infrastructure & Logistics

China International Marine Containers (Group) Co. Ltd.
edotco Myanmar Limited
Far East Organization
FedEx Express International BV
Hyundai Engineering & Construction Co. Ltd.
Swire Pacific Offshore Group

Retail & Healthcare

Aditya Birla Retail Ltd. & Aditya Birla Fashion and Retail Ltd.
Aeon Co. (M) Bhd.

Technology, Media & Telecom

Alibaba Group Hong Kong
Alibaba Group International
Dolby Laboratories
FIS Global
Lazada Group
LG Display Co., Ltd. – IP Division
Sony (China) Limited
Telstra International Limited
Tencent Holdings Limited
Viacom18 Media Private Limited

Travel & Leisure

Flash Entertainment FZ LLC
InterContinental Hotels Group
InterGlobe Aviation Limited
Melco Resorts & Entertainment Limited (“Melco)
The Hong Kong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited


Black & Veatch
Kuehne + Nagel MEA
Nord Anglia Education
Rekso Group
Tharawat Saudi Arabia